ROTC Hall of Honor inducts newest members

ROTC Hall of Honor inducts newest members

Anthony Peck Staff Writer

UT Arlington’s Military Science Department members inducted two honorees Sunday afternoon during the 33rd Hall of Honor, a ceremony filled with inspiring and memorable moments.

The event began at 10 a.m. in the University Center at UTA. The ceremony hosted about 100 guests including past and present UTA cadets, faculty and their families. The newly inducted members, Col. Archie Davis III and Mr. Al Ellis spoke with gratitude about their honors on stage to those in attendance after the reception and lunch.

“It means a great deal to me,” Davis said. “In my 31 years of service, I was simply doing my job.”

Davis shared his experience as a Maverick cadet and his military inspirations while attending UTA. He received the 2013 Outstanding African American Achievement Award as well as Hall Honor.

He currently works as a Financial Recourse Manager at Fort Hood.

Ellis spoke next about his career as an attorney within the military. He explained that at first the military didn’t seem like the right choice for him.

“Once I got in the military, the organization was not as satisfying as I thought it would be,” Ellis said to the crowd.

After attending law school at Southern Methodist University Ellis admitted that the military had been the basis of his career, and that in actuality it was who he was.

A skit honoring the history of Army traditions called “I am a Maverick” was performed by UTA cadets in the Palo Duro Lounge after the honorees’ acceptance speeches.

The skit was concluded with a salute and a moment of silence, followed by three cannon shots from the outside pavilion that could be heard ringing all over campus.

Cadet Maj. Courtney Dorris, a planner of the event and Battalion Executive Officer at UTA, shared her inspiration after the ceremony.

“Coming here and being a part of such a time honored event, along with such dedicated individuals that sacrifice for our country, has been an amazing experience,” she said.

The Hall of Honor committee will be inducting two to three more of its top nominees in February next year.