Junior engineering student named University’s first Goldwater Scholar

Erica Castillo, a junior in the College of Engineering, has been named UT Arlington’s first Goldwater Scholar.

Castillo’s research focuses on structural health monitoring under the direction of Haiying Huang, associate professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering. She plans to expand her research to include soft biomaterials.

Elijah Stevens, a sophomore in mechanical engineering, was awarded an honorable mention in the Goldwater Scholars program.

Stevens, an Iraq war veteran, is researching high temperature thermal protection systems under the direction of Dragos-Stefan Dancila, associate professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering.

Congress established the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program in 1986 in honor of the former U.S. senator from Arizona and 1964 presidential candidate. The program’s goal is to encourage a continuing source of highly qualified scientists, mathematicians, and engineers by awarding scholarships in those fields.

Read more about the Goldwater Scholarship.

Source: MavWire

Leave a Reply