PhD students accepted into prestigious summer programs

Congratulations to two of our PhD students who have been accepted into prestigious summer programs:

Dian Nostikasari, PhD student in Urban Planning and Public Policy, was accepted into the 2015 Journal of Planning Education and Research (JPER) Writing Workshop for New Scholars. The workshop is hosted by the editors of JPER and aims to improve the quality of written scholarship among new faculty of planning and related academic programs. It will include sessions on the writing and publishing process with intensive small-group work on participants’ own manuscripts.

Nicole Foster, PhD student in Urban Planning and Public Policy, was accepted into the 2015 Summer Institute in Urban Studies. The Summer Institute is an intensive weeklong program consisting of theoretical discussions, career development workshops and networking opportunities with leading urban studies scholars from around the world. It is designed to provide participants with an in-depth understanding of developments in urban studies, as well as mentoring and support in the different aspects of the academic process.

Four students awarded Archer fellowships

Congratulations to our students Tarsha Hardy, Sima Namin, Lorin Washington and Emily Worland, who have been awarded Archer Fellowships. The fellowships include attending an intensive federal policymaking course and serving as interns, at a venue of their choosing, in Washington DC this summer. Hardy, Namin and Washington are pursuing a PhD in Urban Planning and Public Policy, while Worland is pursuing a Master of Urban Affairs and Public Policy.

With appreciation to the Archer Center – UT System in Washington DC for providing these fellowships, Honors College Dean Karl Petruso and members of the selection committee for overseeing the process, and our provost, Ron Elsenbaumer, for generously supplementing the fellowships to provide these students with housing in DC.

2015-2016 Scholarships open

Applications are now being accepted for scholarships offered through the School of Urban and Public Affairs.

Current applications are for academic year 2015-2016. A separate application is required for each scholarship. The deadline for applications is Noon, Friday, January 16, 2015.

For eligibility requirements and/or to apply, go to the School’s Scholarships page.

Nan Ellin appointed Founding Dean

Nan EllinNan Ellin, professor and chair of the University of Utah Department of City and Metropolitan Planning, has been named founding dean for a new college to be formed through the integration of the existing schools of Architecture and Urban and Public Affairs at UT Arlington.

Prior to joining the University of Utah, Dr. Ellin served in a series of leadership roles at Arizona State University where she directed programs in planning, Urban and Metropolitan Studies and a doctoral program in architecture and environmental design. She held ASU faculty positions in Planning and Urban Design and in the School of Sustainability, the School of Public Affairs and the School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture. She is the author of numerous books and articles including Good Urbanism: Six Steps to Creating Prosperous Places, Integral Urbanism, and Postmodern Urbanism.

She officially joins UT Arlington on Jan. 5.

Read more about Dr. Ellin’s appointment.

Alum, students win Texas APA Awards

A SUPA alumnus and graduate students were among the winners at the American Planning Association – Texas Chapter’s 2014 Awards:

Alumnus Doug McDonald (’09 MCRP, ’10 MPA), Senior Planner at the City of Plano, won the Chapter President’s Award.

Graduate students working at the Institute of Urban Studies won a Student Project Award (Honorable Mention) for their Comprehensive Land Use Plan for the City of Palestine.

Congratulations – we’re so proud of our students and alumni!